FREE shipping on all orders!

What are the 7 colors of rainbow?

Have you ever wondered why rainbows are so mesmerizing? Is it the vibrant colors? The way they magically appear after a rain shower? Or maybe it's just the sheer joy they bring to our lives. Whatever the reason, rainbows have captured our imagination for centuries. But do you know the real story behind those seven colors? Let's dive in and uncover the secrets of the rainbow!

Why are there 7 colors in a rainbow?

Well, my friend, it all comes down to good old Sir Isaac Newton. Back in the 17th century, this brilliant scientist and mathematician decided to take a closer look at rainbows. He conducted a series of experiments and discovered that sunlight is actually made up of different colors. And when that sunlight passes through raindrops in the air, it gets split into those seven beautiful hues we know and love.

So, what are these 7 colors?

Let's break it down, shall we? The colors of the rainbow, in order, are:

  1. Red: The color of passion, love, and all things fiery.
  2. Orange: A vibrant hue that brings to mind citrus fruits and sunny days.
  3. Yellow: The color of happiness, sunshine, and all things bright.
  4. Green: A refreshing color that reminds us of nature and new beginnings.
  5. Blue: The color of the sky and the ocean, representing calm and tranquility.
  6. Indigo: A mysterious color that's often associated with spirituality and intuition.
  7. Violet: The color of royalty, creativity, and all things magical.

These seven colors together create the mesmerizing arc we call a rainbow. Each color has its own unique wavelength and energy, giving the rainbow its enchanting appearance.

But wait, there's more!

Believe it or not, the rainbow doesn't stop at just seven colors. If you look closely, you might notice some additional shades between the main colors. These are known as "supernumerary colors" and are caused by a phenomenon called interference. It's like a bonus round of colors in the rainbow game!

So, the next time you spot a rainbow in the sky, take a moment to appreciate the magic and wonder behind those seven colors. They may just brighten up your day and remind you of the beauty that surrounds us.

Previous Next